Radiation Safety Committee

The Radiation Safety Committee is responsible for overseeing all use of radioactive materials on the UAA campus. This committee reviews safety procedures and ensures compliance with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Guidelines for use of radioactive materials.

UAA holds a Materials License with the NRC for the use of radioactive materials. The NRC inspects the licensed facilities periodically in order to ensure that the University is compliant with applicable regulations and the requirements outlined in the license.

Documents and Forms:

  • To request the use of radiation for research, please use the UAA Radiation Use Request Form (last revised August 2012).

    Prior to submission of your Request Form to the committee, please contact John Moore, Radiation Safety Officer (786-1268 or jdmoore@alaska.edu). You must receive a facility inspection by the Radiation Safety Officer prior to conducting research with radioactive materials. 

  • UAA

  • UAA Radiation Safety Handbook
  • UAA